my gift to me

I never used to understand when my family would freak out when there were discounts on stuff we wanted but now I do. Before, I always thought, it's just a few dollars, what's the big deal? Well, backing up a bit, this is related to the shopping trip that I went on for my birthday. One of my friends bought me a $20 Steam card that I applied to my account when I got home. I still had some leftover money from my last steam card, so that brought the total in my account up to about $24. Since my birthday is so close to the winter sale that happens on Steam, I decided that it would be best to just go into Steam now and find a few games that I might be interested in buying, add them to my wishlist, and then wait until they go on sale to buy a few.

But what ended up happening is that I found a few games that were already within my budget that I was kind of tempted to buy, but then after reading the reviews, became hesitant about buying. The temptation to just buy something to buy it was definitely strong, but I managed to resist because there are thousands of games that are out there that might be better and also within my budget. So, I just went through and found all sorts of games that I either have wanted to play for a while or that looked interesting enough that maybe it would be worth it to buy at a discount. But then it ended up being two games that weren't on my wishlist that I bought.

So, I'm a big fan of videogames that are set in the wilderness, not necessarily "zombie apocalypse" games because I think that those are kind of bland and overdone, but just regular survival games. I had my eye on Icarus because I also am a big fan of snow (and also because the preview image kinda looks like the poster art from John Carpenter's The Thing just a tad) so I thought that maybe I would be interested in buying that when it goes on sale. Though, at the moment, the reviews are kind of mixed because a lot of people are complaining about the devs releasing it as a "full game" when it's obviously still in development. But even so, a lot of people said that it was still a good game with a lot of potential, and that for an uncompleted game it's very good but under the title of a "full game" it is nowhere near that great.

So I thought, hey, maybe there's some games that are similar to Icarus that has better reviews or is a completed game. So, I looked through what was listed as being a similar game and through that I found The Long Dark, which was on sale for 66% off. A lightbulb went off in my head because from the previews it looked like a game similar to what I was looking for and also had a story mode to it, which is always fun because I like to see things unfold and progress, you know? And then looking under the games that were similar to that is where I found Far Cry Primal, which is like, almost exactly the type of survival game that I've been looking for. And guess what; it was also on sale for 75% off. So, out of curiosity and also my blood pumping really fast, I put them in my cart to see how much that they would cost if I bought them both together. And it was in my price range at a total of $20.54.

And I want to emphasize how much I saved on buying these games while they were on sale for a moment here. Far Cry Primal is normally $30 and The Long Dark is normally $35, which, if bought together, would normally cost $65 in total. But because of the sale, I was able to buy both of them for a grand total of $20.54. That's $44 in savings.

So like, this really feels like such a steal and I am honestly so proud of myself for catching these two while they were on sale. If I didn't, I wouldn't have been able to buy either of them with my measly $24, but then I was able to buy not one, but two games with this discount??? Hello??? Anyway! Yeah you can tell that I'm excited about this.

Haven't been able to really try them out yet, only for a few minutes so far, because I've been kind busy with schoolwork and all. Also since these games have a higher resolution than my laptop can handle, I have to run them on my NVIDIA GeForce application which is a lifesaver but I also can only play for an hour at a time before it will close out my server. But like, to avoid being kicked out you just gotta save your game a few minutes before you get kicked out and then just leave the server and come back in again and then boom, you got another whole hour of uninterupped playtime. It's definitely a little annoying but it's better than not being able to play the game at all, right? Not to mention I'm on the free version of NVIDIA GeForce so like, I can't really complain because I do have the option to buy their membership for longer server time but I just. Don't want to lol

back to journal