new laptop

I bought myself a new gaming laptop. I've been wanting a new computer for a while now, but I was finally able to get one. So, for a while now my old computer hasn't quite been working right. It's about 3 or 4 years old, and it's just a regular old HP computer. A few months ago while I was on summer break, the computer started running kinda funny and was hardly able to load a regular webpage anymore. With a little help from somebody who was a little more tech savvy than I was, they were able to help me clean out my computer some which cleared up some of the space and helped it run faster. But then about a month into the school year, the internal microphone died in the middle of one of my classes, so I quickly had to buy an external usb microphone that I could use for class instead. And then finally a few weeks ago which made me think that maybe I need to be more urgent in my laptop search was that my old computer was no longer able to turn off anymore.

Like, just closing the lid wouldn't do anything anymore, and sometimes the fans would still be running even if I turned it off the regular way... so I started thinking that maybe it was time for me to upgrade to a gaming laptop, since I've been downloading a lot more games recently and some of them I don't have the proper graphics for. After a little bit of looking at reviews and taking price into consideration, I settled with an Acer computer that costed $700 before tax. So, over winter break when I visited my relatives for Christmas, I got a considerable amount of money from each of them. So when I got home, I decided "eh, why don't I count how much money I have saved up so far". And that total came up to $1,167 total. Which a surspise to me also because as far as I knew I only had like $400 saved up, but I'm certainly not complaining.

So, I bought the computer and that's what I'm using to type this up with right now. I like it! I like how quiet it is, I like how fast it is. It's super crisp looking screen is kind of giving me a headache though because I'm used to a screen that's a little blurry with slightly off colouration, like kinda muted in a way. Though my one gripe with it is that you really need to press down on these keys for it to register, so sometimes I won't press down hard enough. It's not a super big deal and I'm sure that the more that I use this keyboard that the easier it will become but still, kind of annoying to have to go back and fix the errors. I noticed that the main times that a key won't register is if I hit the key on a corner instead of in the middle, which is a little strange but whatever, I guess.

It also has a backlit keyboard, which is nice. I like that I'm able to see what I'm typing better when it's dark out, but because the keys are red it's kinda hard to see what I'm pressing once the backlight goes off after some time of inactivity. But over all, a solid computer that will definitely get the job done. Also, I got a little spooked while I was writing this because the fans on the computer spontaneously turned off and it was scary how silent it was. I've never owned a computer before that was able to be like completely silent while in use. And then I got spooked again when the fans turned back on a few minutes later.

back to journal