surgery, spanish, and better discord

Hello all, long time no post but I promise I have a good reason. So, for one, I usually only like to post to my journal when something's actually happening in my life that I'd like to share. And for the past few weeks, it's been pretty uneventful, mostly. The most I have to update about is that, for one, I decided that I'm going to give Spanish another shot. So far it's mostly just review of things that I had already learned in the three years that I took it in middle school, but it's important to keep in mind that I failed all three years of Spanish that I took. I dunno, something about it was just so stressful to me, being graded on how well I was able to speak or write without error. I make errors all the time when I'm speaking in English and nobody cares, so why is it such a big deal in Spanish class?

Anyway,I found a pretty good book explaining everything in a fun way so I'm going to keep using that and hope that it helps me. I'm currently somewhere in the A2 category; upper beginner. I'm kind of sad that I didn't get a chance to speak Spanish growing up since my dad left, but now that I'm trying to reconnect with my Salvadoran heritage, I think it will give me the motivation I need to push on and keep learning to fluency. What was holding me back before is that I was reluctant to learn Spanish because I associated it with my dad, and I hated him, and so at the time it meant that I hated the Spanish language too. But now that I've had time to heal I know now that not everybody is like him, and also I can't try to run away from who I am. At one point in my angstyness I even considered changing my last name because I didn't want people to think I was like him. Massive leaps in thinking, I know, but to me it made perfect sense. And in a way, it still does, but I am also able to see the immaturity in it now.

Alright, second thing on my list to talk about, 4 days ago, on Thursday, I got a minor surgery on my arm that would help treat a condition of mine temporarily. And I've been meaning to update this sooner to talk about it, but my arm is in a lot of pain. As far as I can tell, it's healing normally, but it still feels like I'm being stabbed everyday... If I move my arm in a way that scrunches up the skin it's painful... if I walk with my arm at my side it's painful... if the sleeve rubs on the area too much it's painful... I already tried taking pain pills but they don't work, so I guess I'll just have to put up with it and hope that it goes away soon.

And finally, today I decided that I would redownload BetterDiscord. So for those of you who don't know, BetterDiscord is basically just an add on for Discord that makes it so that you can change your theme to anything that you like. You can choose from the ones that others have already made, or you can make one of your own because the themes themselves run on css coding. I had gone a while without it, but I decided that I was getting kinda bored with the regular old dark grey colour background, so I gave BetterDiscord another shot. And I found a theme that I absolutely love.

A screenshot of a Discord server, the theme is on lightmode and has a skeuomorphic design resembling the early internet

This theme is called SkeuoCord and it uses a skeuomorphic design, which gives me so much nostalgia of the early internet where all the buttons looked like bubbles... I usually keep my discord on dark mode, but this theme makes light mode way easier to look at, and gives an extra boost of nostalgia since back in my day everything was in light mode whether you liked it or not.

back to journal